‘You made a woman meow?!’

Standard

When Harry met Sally is 25 years old.  Now, as readers of this blog know, the chick flick (with a few exceptions) is not my favourite genre.  However, this gem from 1989 is one of the good ones.

The film centres on the relationship between Sally Albright (Meg Ryan) and Harry Burns (Billy Crystal).  They first meet as graduates when they car share from Chicago to New York.  Harry blatantly fancies Sally, which appals her as he is dating her friend.  Harry is plain-speaking whilst Sally skirts around the issue, ‘Miss Hospital Corners’ as Harry calls her.

Harry (Billy Crystal) and Sally (Meg Ryan)

The film follows the pair as they grow older and date various people.  I love their best friends Marie and Jess, played by Carrie Fisher and Bruno Kirby.  Their presence and chemistry with Crystal and Ryan is perfect.  Harry and Sally become close in their 30’s, after bumping into one another in New York, and start hanging out, but can men and women ever really be just friends?

Sally: I have as much of a dark side as the next person.

Harry: Oh really? When I buy a book, I read the last page first.  That way, in case I die before I finish, I know how it ends.  That, my friend, is a dark side.

Nora Ephron (RiP) wrote the screenplay.  She really hits the nail on the head as to the way men and women view each other and relationships, whilst always maintaining the pace and brilliant, witty banter.

This film is a fabulous advert for visiting New York, particularly in the Autumn.  Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are both at their most charming.  If you like your romance with spark and wit, with a touch of reality, then When Harry met Sally is for you.  The Harry Connick Jr soundtrack is perfectly suited throughout.

Harry: If the two people are in relationships, the pressure of possible involvement is lifted…..  That doesn’t work either, because what happens then is, the person you’re involved with can’t understand why you need to be friends with the person you’re just friends with.

This post is for my lovely friend Ali.  We have watched this film together since we were 18 and we know every line! xx

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “‘You made a woman meow?!’

  1. I remember stating as a kid that I loved the movie, but I don’t remember why. I remember so little about it, which is strange. Whenever I’ll get around to watching it maybe I’ll remember! 😉

    I find it a pity that some people think that you can have friends who are guys, or vice versa, if you’re in a relationship–friends come in so many different ways, and it’s a pity when we let them get away from us.

    Like

    • I know what you mean. I see my male friends, who are mainly my friends’ husbands, as a brother and friend, nothing else and it must be the same the other way too. I was once really good friends with a guy before I met my husband, but he wanted to be more than friends and I didn’t…..so he didn’t want to be friends any more. So sad.

      Like

  2. Love the title of this post Louisa! I’ve seen this film a couple of times, bound to be a classic if not already. I would use this film as an example when teaching a course where we would debate “whether men and women can just be friends?”, but sadly most college age students today haven’t seen it.

    Like

    • Hi Jessica. Sorry for the late reply, I was away in Abruzzo. It is such a good film and always relevant. I think you’re right that not many students have seen it. I think they would enjoy it too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

