My Favourite Movie Soundtracks

Standard

The soundtrack to a movie is hugely important.  It gives a movie impact by stirring the relevant emotion in the viewer.  Think of John Barry’s music for Out of Africa for example.  Here is a list of some of my favourite soundtracks, some well known, others not.

 

The Talented Mr Ripley – Various artists

Beautiful, brilliant and haunting…..just like the film, this music will get inside your head.  I love that Matt Damon and Jude Law perform on the soundtrack.  My favourite piece is a classical music piece, Italia, by Gabriel Yared. It reminds me of how I feel when I arrive in Italy on holiday.

 

The Virgin Suicides – Various Artists

Again, beautiful soundtrack.  Everything about Sophia Coppola’s films are in the little details and the soundtrack is perfect, making one think of lazy, hot summers and first love.  I adore Playground Love by Air.

 

Tron Legacy – Daft Punk

I have always liked Daft Punk so I thought it was pretty cool that Disney gave them free rein on the soundtrack.  Daft Punk have created an amazing score that could not be more perfect for this film.  Various pieces have been used for adverts, unsurprisingly.  We always listen to the whole album when driving over the San Gottard pass to get to Italy every year.  My favourite track? Two, Outlands and Disc Wars, but if you love electro then you’ll love the whole album.

 

Moulin Rouge and Romeo & Juliet – Various Artists

The music for these two fantastic films, is key. It is quite unusual for the music to be centre stage in what are not quite musicals in the traditional sense, or Romeo & Juliet is not at least.  I love the variety of rock and pop.  My favourite tracks are I’m Kissing You by Des’ree and Diamond Dogs by Beck.

 

Hitch – Various Artists

Just like the film itself, the soundtrack is totally feel-good, I  mean, this film has Heavy D & the Boyz for goodness sake!  My favourite track is 1 Thing by Amerie.  This movie and soundtrack reminds me of a great year in my life.

 

Despicable Me (1 & 2) – Pharrell & Various Artists

What can I say?  I have two little boys who adore these films and I admit, I enjoy the soundtrack with them too.  My 5 year old knows the despicable me ‘rap’.  Best track?  Happy.  End of.  Pharrell is indeed a clever guy.

 

The Bodyguard – Whitney Houston

Now, more than ever, this soundtrack is more heartbreaking because of poor Whitney.  She was at the top of her game here and surprised everyone with how good an actress she was to boot.  I love, I Have Nothing.

 

Lord of the Rings – Howard Shore

image

Sweeping and epic, like the trilogy, the Lord of the Rings soundtrack is a triumph.  Instantly recognisable, like other hugely successful film saga soundtracks, this is already a classic.  All of it is as brilliant as the three films themselves.

 

The Empire Strikes Back – John Williams

Speaking of epic sagas, John Williams score for Empire is just that.  The best track on the soundtrack is undoubtedly Finale.  Best soundtrack of the trilogy for the best film of the trilogy.  I’m not including episodes 1-3.

 

The Lost Boys – Various Artists

One of my favourite movies from my teens, this is one awesome soundtrack.  Really, no competition, best track is People are Strange by Echo & the Bunnymen.

 

Last, but not least….

When Harry Met Sally – Harry Connick Jr

I love this film.  Meg Ryan, Billy Crystal and writer, Nora Ephron (RiP), are at the top of their game.  So was Harry Connick Jr when he made this soundtrack.  Perfect songs for a movie about a couple of friends in New York trying to find true love.  My favourite track? Gotta be, It Had to be You.

 

There are so many more, too many to mention, but anything by John Williams, the fab techno soundtrack to Run, Lola, Run, Quentin Tarantino’s movies always have good music (Kill Bill a prime example), I love Danny Elfman’s quirky sound (he scores Tim Burton’s movies), Michael Ghiacchino’s score for Star Trek: Into Darkness, Alan Silvestri’s score for Avengers Assemble, the Bond movie soundtracks…..

 

images: IMDb

 

 

23 thoughts on “My Favourite Movie Soundtracks

  1. My absolute favorite song of all time, Talk Show Host, is on the Romeo and Juliet album. I had no idea it was Radiohead until years later, when I was asked on a first date what my favorite song was. Turned out Radiohead was his favorite band, and years later I married that guy :).

    Like

  2. I love how you are mentioning music when it comes to movies. I think some people forgot about the soundtracks as they are watching! It is evident that you don’t 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Olivia. It is an important part of the movie isn’t it. At the end of the day, would Jaws, Halloween, Pulp Fiction and the Matrix (for example) have the same impact without their soundtracks? 🙂

      Like

  3. Ohhhh The Bodyguard DID have a great soundtrack. And so did The Preacher’s Wife, also w/Whitney Houston singing. Grease tops my list too (old favorites are hard to forget). 🙂

    Like

  4. Movie soundtracks are the best! Disney movies always have amazing tracks. Hans Zimmer is one of my favourite composers when it comes to movie soundtracks 🙂 x

    Like

  5. tiffanyatouchofgrace

    I used to have probably half of those soundtracks. Loved The Bodyguard and Romeo & Juliet. I love Disney movie soundtracks as well. I seem to never tire of them, even though my daughter listens to them constantly. 🙂

    Like

  6. nextroutestyle

    Great choices! The Bodyguard is definitely our favourite, a classic! Also love the Romeo & Juilet soundtrack too.

    Fab blog by the way – great idea; we do love films too – tend to watch far too many rom coms though! Will be great read your reviews and recommendations on films to watch.

    x Roch & Tash x
    http://www.next-route-style.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

